An unexpected revelation

I have had something of a revelatory afternoon. (Welcome, by the way! Yay, new digital Elloa space! Woop woop!)

The wisdom passed on to me today came via a therapist. Well, a hydrotherapist, to be more precise. Okay, okay – she was a colonic hydrotherapist. Yes, that’s right; I sat for over an hour today having cool water flushed in and out of my colon to cleanse and clean it out. Yes, I did have that strange urge to look at what was leaving my body. No, I didn’t feel like I was going to poop myself afterwards. And fascinatingly, the lovely Senka at Revitalise in Hove could tell just from the types of bubbles and stuff leaving my body that I have a bacterial infection of some kind. She eventually diagnosed me (off the record) with candida – which apparently is notoriously difficult to diagnose.

Bugger.

Candida, for those of you who don’t know, is basically a parasite. Put more nicely than that, it’s an overproduction of yeast. The truth is that millions of tiny little parasitic nasties hook their claws into the lining of your large intestine. They feed off a substance that is known to be extremely dangerous and yet is found in abundant proportions throughout our western world and given to a huge number of children on a daily basis – sugar. Yep, that’s right: the white stuff, the stuff I’ve basically had an intimate relationship with since I was a tiny kid, has (as I’ve suspected for many years) been driving me along, and the urge to have it has been fed by these millions of bloody parasites living in my body. Yuck! What’s scary is that apparently, untreated candida can spread throughout the body and even get into the brain.

*Don’t even want to go there*

I have also had something confirmed that I’ve suspected for ages – I’m probably lactose intolerant (thousands of lattes later, I’m not surprised), and could do with taking a break from all dairy products for three days, reintroducing items one by one after that to see if I react to them.

What I learned about the body and colon health today was a revelation. Did you know that the first organ to develop in foetuses is the colon, and that all of the other organs emerge out of it? Well, I bloomin’ didn’t, and I find that utterly incredible. Senka told me that often, if a person has a part of their colon surgically removed, problems associated with the relevant organ that ‘popped’ out of it whilst in the foetus actually disappear?! Arthritis, for example, has been known to disappear. A condition as crippling as this has been found to vanish overnight once the source of the problem – the part of the body where the candida was active – had been removed.

Whatever it is I need to do to get rid of this thing, I will do it! (If you’re interested, my two choices appear to be a) 6 months of living on a very restricted diet in order to slowly, steadily kill off the candida; b) five weeks of an adjusted diet plus taking this – very controversial with the big pharmaceutical companies but supposedly incredible).

I think colonic hydrotherapy has a reputation for being a bit weird or disgusting. It’s still semi-taboo, a subject that’s met with an awkward laugh. But the thing is that it’s the organ that can determine the health of our whole body. Whilst we pay so much attention to our skin, layering chemicals onto it to make it ‘look’ nice and healthy, or to our hearts – vitally important, I’m not denying that! – surely the organ whose job is to actually eliminate waste from the body is something that needs crucial time and attention paid to it?

Imagine this… you live in a fabulous house. Marble floors (or whatever floats your boat). A gorgeous bathroom. Plush sofas, carpets and beds. A beautiful garden. An Audi out front. Fresh paint inside and out. And none of your bins are ever emptied. Old food, rotting and putrid, sits decomposing in your kitchen. You burn incense and oils to mask the stench, but that’s kind of pointless until you address the real problem – you need to empty the bins! Once you have, you find that things are a lot freer, the energy moves through your house, and you can truly rest in your environment. You’re not afraid to breathe deep. Life flows.

Finding a signpost that appears to indicate why I’ve had years of afternoon tiredness, tiredness despite getting lots of sleep, feeling disconnected, as well as a bunch of other physical symptoms (including itchy eyes that have meant that for the past few weeks I haven’t been able to wear my contact lenses – and it’s not hayfever) has made me feel so relieved!

As much as I don’t want to be a health freak, I do want to live lean, strong and vibrant. For me, a light has been shone onto something potentially critical happening in my life. I must be ready to deal with it.
One of the big challenges for me in my life is to take action when I’ve been given awareness about something, doing that all important work of making changes to habits and ways of being that don’t serve me. Apparently, I am at a crossroads, and it was an intuitive urge to book a colonic hydrotherapy treatment that led me there.

So watch this space… (I’m quietly pleading with myself to take the action needed on this one. Putting it out there = making space to welcome in support and accountability).

Is there something happening in your life right now that you’re ready to face the music about? Perhaps a physical symptom, or an emotional issue. Are you willing to be accountable? If it’s a no, that’s cool; just let yourself witness that. And if it’s yes, what is your next step?

I’d love to hear from you…
Elloa xx

One thought on “An unexpected revelation

  1. hey Elloa, the wife of Nigel, got my ass into gear and read three of your postings. I saw the link and followed it. Exciting. Welcoming death – if it was coming – was a marvellous thing to hear. Well done there. Cold shower, I may copy that, I will ask my Nigel (my healer ) if it would be too much, slice me open, to do it for thirty days. I do go to Spa baths and dive into the plunge pools. I did it this week and had great emotional release as I dived in. Criticism is that I thought you were writing about teaching English and secondly, just about your bliss. Yet it is much more than that.

Leave a Reply

